@nytopinion - Twitter Profile Analysis

Analysis of 200 tweets by New York Times Opinion, from 04 Dec 2021 to 09 Dec 2021.

@nytopinion twitter profile photo

New York Times Opinion

verified twitter profile @nytopinion

We amplify voices on the issues that matter to you. | Tell us what you think: letters@nytimes.com

213,774 tweets
797,252 followers
4,399 favourites
48 tweets per day
2008 since
1,466 following
8,142 listed
NYC, London, Paris, Hong Kong location

Top Tweets by @nytopinion

New York Times Opinion
@nytopinion
The founders of @uaustinorg believe free speech is being stifled on campuses across America and they want to fix it. But is that true? And if it is, could this new university actually make a difference? That’s today’s debate on The Argument.  https://t.co/gPBokVIeBp
09 Dec, 2021 - 12:02 AM UTC
New York Times Opinion
@nytopinion
On today’s episode of The Argument, @janecoaston, @glukianoff and @mcopelov debate the merits and mission of the new university @uaustinorg and its supposed commitment to “freedom of inquiry, freedom of conscience, and civil discourse.” https://t.co/OuSplevHjF
08 Dec, 2021 - 11:27 PM UTC
New York Times Opinion
@nytopinion
“For the first time in my life, I have come to believe that the stability of our constitutional institutions can no longer be taken for granted,” William Galston, a senior fellow at @BrookingsInst, told @edsall. https://t.co/tpoSTdTn8y
08 Dec, 2021 - 11:07 PM UTC
New York Times Opinion
@nytopinion
“If it succeeds,” @mcopelov says of @uaustinorg on today’s episode of The Argument, “it’s going to take a lot of time and resources and money and it will have to become what existing universities already are.”  https://t.co/vFWhM3GqZA
08 Dec, 2021 - 11:07 PM UTC
New York Times Opinion
@nytopinion
.@tmorello is famous for his activism, but his mother “remains the most radical and the most popular member of the Morello family.” https://t.co/oQA8ZZ1WCX
08 Dec, 2021 - 10:45 PM UTC
New York Times Opinion
@nytopinion
Today, the head of Instagram is testifying before a senate committee about its effects on the mental health of its youngest users. Last month, we published a video arguing the app's safety measures aren’t nearly as effective as the company claims. https://t.co/ukSyrBpn0y
08 Dec, 2021 - 10:40 PM UTC
New York Times Opinion
@nytopinion
The press needs “to tell the truth about populism’s flaws and failings” while convincing skeptical readers that it can “be trusted to describe reality in full,” says @DouthatNYT. https://t.co/XVIqL5gNQZ
08 Dec, 2021 - 10:04 PM UTC
New York Times Opinion
@nytopinion
A journalistic obligation to the truth “cannot be set aside for the sake of certain political results, however desirable for democracy those results may seem,” says @DouthatNYT. https://t.co/g6g9f86GA2
08 Dec, 2021 - 09:40 PM UTC
New York Times Opinion
@nytopinion
“A growing anti-vaccine movement that, headed by previously regime-friendly figures, is stirring up trouble,” writes @Alexey__Kovalev. “It’s not clear that Mr. Putin, usually adept at quashing sentiments not to his liking, can do much about it.” https://t.co/VPnjoePvjA
08 Dec, 2021 - 09:14 PM UTC
New York Times Opinion
@nytopinion
“There’s something counterproductive about the way contemporary race matters are caveated and couched in questions that so often lead to more questions, rather than to consensus,” writes @JohnHMcWhorter. https://t.co/lscUTO3bMs
08 Dec, 2021 - 08:54 PM UTC
New York Times Opinion
@nytopinion
The head of Instagram will testify before the senate today on how the app impacts the metal health of its youngest users. But are its safety measures really working? We spoke with social media’s youngest fans to see what they have to say. https://t.co/hPp81IPaHP
08 Dec, 2021 - 08:30 PM UTC
New York Times Opinion
@nytopinion
“The radicalized G.O.P. is the main anti-democratic force,” Theda Skocpol says. “Trump plays a crucial threatening role, but I think things have now moved to the point that many Republican Party officials and elected officeholders are self-starters.” https://t.co/qu0r1OlRJO
08 Dec, 2021 - 07:55 PM UTC
New York Times Opinion
@nytopinion
“A vaccine mandate is the only way to break the endless cycle of surging infections that in turn push hospitals to the brink,” writes @DrRobDavidson. https://t.co/zxTVTB3FAK
08 Dec, 2021 - 07:33 PM UTC
New York Times Opinion
@nytopinion
“Politicians and public figures who discourage responsible behavior — getting vaccinated — are deluded or self-serving, pandering to a significant minority that stands in the way of the human community. We should blame them.” #NYTLetters https://t.co/1qMj2hbMos
08 Dec, 2021 - 07:11 PM UTC
New York Times Opinion
@nytopinion
Priya Fielding-Singh, the author of “How the Other Half Eats” talked to @JessGrose “about why it sometimes feels as if there are ‘only wrong answers’ when it comes to feeding our kids.” https://t.co/MZyPjiGlIP
08 Dec, 2021 - 06:45 PM UTC

Top Retweets by @nytopinion

Charles Holmes
@CharlesBHolmes
A tragic & personal MUST read from my friend ⁦⁦@DrRobDavidson⁩ ⁦⁦@nytopinion⁩ Vaccine misinformation leading to vaccine hesitancy, ⬆️ deaths & traumatized nurses/doctors. Michigan’s healthcare system teetering on the “edge of collapse” https://t.co/2Vz4ptbaED
08 Dec, 2021 - 09:11 PM UTC
Alexandra Sifferlin
@acsifferlin
"Other than widespread vaccination, no silver bullet exists to end the pandemic, rapid at-home antigen tests included. But plentiful free tests could help keep schools and businesses open at full capacity more easily." @aaronecarroll https://t.co/3ndJb931Oi
08 Dec, 2021 - 08:42 PM UTC
farhad manjoo
@fmanjoo
The year America lost its democracy. Here’s my @nytopinion on the scariest news of 2021: voting limits, elections under partisan officials, the unraveling of democracy in the US. If this happened elsewhere we’d be alarmed. Dems in congress … aren’t https://t.co/TAKA0xHHzK
08 Dec, 2021 - 08:14 PM UTC
Shematologist, MD
@acweyand
“Personal choice cannot be an acceptable reason to endanger other people.” https://t.co/SxXQqVGnCt
08 Dec, 2021 - 04:25 PM UTC
Alexey Kovalyov
@Alexey__Kovalev
I wrote for @nytopinion about how inventing the gun and then shooting ourselves in the foot with it, over and over again, is Russia's national sport, exemplified in the Kremlin's handling of the pandemic. Tl;dr we're all screwed. https://t.co/fI7p3fNnu6
08 Dec, 2021 - 03:19 PM UTC
Jane Coaston
@janecoaston
Universities! Speech! I make two football jokes in the introduction! I also note that I don't care about Yale! It's a new episode of The Argument! https://t.co/RmludRud4E
08 Dec, 2021 - 02:38 PM UTC
Tom Nichols
@RadioFreeTom
Theda Skocpol from Harvard. How many times and from how many places do Democrats need to hear this? https://t.co/bXHuqquwms
08 Dec, 2021 - 02:08 PM UTC
Jake Bernstein
@Jake_Bernstein
Michigan E.R. Doc: With every shift, I see the strain people sick with Covid-19 put on my hospital. Their choice to not get vaccinated is not personal. It postpones surgeries for countless other people and burns out doctors and nurses. https://t.co/uAG91DgQua
08 Dec, 2021 - 01:31 PM UTC
Thomas Edsall
@Edsall
Opinion | Trump Won’t Let America Go. Can Democrats Pry It Away? - The New York Times https://t.co/4MXjJ66nlZ
08 Dec, 2021 - 10:47 AM UTC
Lluís Bassets
@lbassets
“A deadly virus can’t be ignored, jailed, exiled or co-opted — nor can it be locked down without great economic cost. That puts Vladimir Putin in a bind. The pandemic, perhaps his hardiest foe to date, has starkly revealed the limits of his power”. https://t.co/2m3G9qGBYW
08 Dec, 2021 - 09:49 AM UTC
Kara Swisher
@karaswisher
Our next Spaces with me and @CaseyNewton will be Thursday at 5 pm et and we’ll have @nytimes media dude @benyt to talk about the new ceo of Trump Media online @DevinNunes and what up with @CNN and @ChrisCuomo. It’s earlier, but it’ll be holiday lit 🌲 🔥: https://t.co/OS0rYGd6xg
07 Dec, 2021 - 09:37 PM UTC
Tim Allen
@212adventures
Incredible interview w/ @aijenpoo, a leading advocate for fundamentally changing America's care infrastructure. She details our #carecrisis, the obstacles families face, and our opportunity to solve it. ⬇️ @domesticworkers @caringacrossgen #CareCantWait https://t.co/CgoMy8bs4m
07 Dec, 2021 - 07:33 PM UTC
Paul Krugman
@paulkrugman
The rise and rise of malignant whiners https://t.co/B8e68vc5Xw
07 Dec, 2021 - 06:20 PM UTC
Shannon Busta
@Busta_
Today's episode of The Ezra Klein Show with guest host @hmcghee and @aijenpoo is so good and so important. Care (child, elder, etc) is infrastructure and we need to invest in it. It is the work that makes all other work possible. https://t.co/OuvLVQcVgb
07 Dec, 2021 - 04:04 PM UTC
Stacey E. Singleton
@staceyNYCDC
“The 𝘸𝘩𝘺𝘴 of American politics have much more to do with the ever-changing currents of race, religion and economic production than they do with political messaging.” https://t.co/H6yjjqUmr9
07 Dec, 2021 - 02:15 PM UTC

@nytopinion's

Tweets

154 tweets
41 retweets
5 replies
@nytopinion's

Twitter Client

155 SocialFlow
45 Twitter Web App
@nytopinion's

Tweet Times

@nytopinion's

Tweet Days


@nytopinion's

Retweets

2 - gailcollins
2 - acsifferlin
1 - steve_vladeck
1 - lfeatherz
1 - TimMcKayMI
1 - GaiusNicholas
1 - SJGoodman
1 - SeamusHughes
1 - JoelakaMaG
@nytopinion's

Replies

5 - nytopinion
@nytopinion's

Hashtags

4 - #NYTLetters
@nytopinion's

Mentions

8 - @DouthatNYT
7 - @jbouie
7 - @karaswisher
7 - @rcbregman
7 - @janecoaston
6 - @JennyBoylan
6 - @paulkrugman
6 - @maiasz
5 - @gailcollins